Power Steering Lines

Is this a NYS Safety Inspection? IDK if it's actually something that's supposed to be checked, but it certainly isn't something that's routinely checked.

Not familiar w/ that particular car, but my old-dated opinion on the cost (it's been over 20 yrs since I worked in a garage or car parts store) is that's high. Rough guess maybe $50 retail for the hose (i.e. a garage will mark it up to $100) & less than 1 hr labor to replace, $80. Add a few bucks for more fluid.

Unless you want to constantly check your fluid level & the condition of the hose to assure a failure isn't imminent I'd suggest replacing it.

My car inspection failed due to my power steering pressure line leaking a bit...

I have a 96 Buick regal and I was quoted $330 to fix it

Rip off or worth it? Any personal experiences?

No .Take it to a car wash with a pressure washer,clean that ittey bitty amount of P.S.fuild off, then drive a day or so to so the water goes away and it isn't so obvious it was cleaned. Then go somewere else. I had I NYS DMV inspectors license 1985-1994 and the "safety inspection"is 90% baloney.

'

Is this a NYS Safety Inspection? IDK if it's actually something that's supposed to be checked, but it certainly isn't something that's routinely checked.

Not familiar w/ that particular car, but my old-dated opinion on the cost (it's been over 20 yrs since I worked in a garage or car parts store) is that's high. Rough guess maybe $50 retail for the hose (i.e. a garage will mark it up to $100) & less than 1 hr labor to replace, $80. Add a few bucks for more fluid.

Unless you want to constantly check your fluid level & the condition of the hose to assure a failure isn't imminent I'd suggest replacing it.

I'm trying to figure out a temporary fix so it passes

the only reason it failed is because they lifted the car to check the rotors and it was leaking. Maybe If I place some sort of puddy or something on the leak for the day - I will be OK?

Any ideas for that?