OT Legal question

I know there are a few of you out there who will know the answer to this....

If someone comes to my door to serve a subpoena to me, but I'm not there and a family member takes possession of it, what are my rights? Am I obligated to appear?

Here's the stupid part....the person wanting me to testify on their behalf in a custody case is not going to get any benefit from my testimony. The person is a scumbag pervert who tried to kiss my barely teenaged daughter.

On top of that...I have a job interview the day of the court appearance.

The document says that I'll be in contempt and can be arrested if I fail to appear.

Any thoughts or advise? I obviously have no interest in wasting my time on this matter.

I'm not a lawyer, nor did I stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night. But if it were me, I'd see if I could put the interview off for a day, explain to them you were given subpoena in a custody case and just leave it at that, and go to court, so you can see the expression on the scumbags face when you give your testimony.

I know there are a few of you out there who will know the answer to this....

If someone comes to my door to serve a subpoena to me, but I'm not there and a family member takes possession of it, what are my rights? Am I obligated to appear?

Here's the stupid part....the person wanting me to testify on their behalf in a custody case is not going to get any benefit from my testimony. The person is a scumbag pervert who tried to kiss my barely teenaged daughter.

On top of that...I have a job interview the day of the court appearance.

The document says that I'll be in contempt and can be arrested if I fail to appear.

Any thoughts or advise? I obviously have no interest in wasting my time on this matter.

704063[/snapback]

Given that you claim that the scumbag tried to make your daughter, and you are sure the truth was spoken, why would you NOT want to speak? :P

Edited by stuckincincy