What are the odds?? I have a good story for you all… please share your stories of cool coincidences.

Bad Things

The lovely Mrs. Bad Things and I just returned from a fantastic 3-week holiday in Fiji.  
Bula Vinaka!

While we enjoyed each and every day of our trip, we assumed the final day was going to be a kind of a throw-away, travel day, as we had to fly back from the beautiful outer islands, to be near the main center of Nadi, for our early morning flight back to New Zealand.  
This throwaway day wound up providing me with of the coolest experiences I’ve ever had.  I’m still shaking my head about it.

About 7-8 years ago, I got a nice Polynesian armband tattoo, here in New Zealand. The tattoo artist did a fantastic job adding designs from all of the Pacific islands I’ve already visited.  https://www.taupoutatau.com/tuigamala-andy
It was always my intention to keep adding to it, as we continue to explore the islands.  (New designs have been added while on Aitutaki and Rarotonga.)

To mark our wonderful experience in Fiji, Mrs. Bad Things reminded me to get a traditional Fijian design added before we left, so I had our accommodation recommend a local tattoo artist to do the work.  It was a bit of a worry, as I wasn’t able to see any of the artist’s previous work.  I just had to put my trust in this random stranger.

That afternoon, I met Simms (The artist) and discussed what pattern I wanted him to do.
I had a couple shots of rum, while he was setting up his stuff and then got to work.

After about 5 minutes, he stopped working, looked up at me and said, “I think I recognize your tattoo”.
Excuse me?”
“I think I know this tattoo”
What?” (His English wasn’t the best, so I thought he simply meant that he knew some of the old-school designs in it.)

He got excited and said, “I DO know it… I have a photo of it on my phone!”
“What?!? What are you talking about?

He took out his phone and scrolled through his photos for about 10 seconds and said, “Here it is!!”
What?!?