Question for any coaches

Buffaloed in Pa

My youngest son Kody who at 17 weighing 165 lbs at 5-10 .He just benched 350 and also runs in the 4.5 forty range. I held him out of football this year because of politics at his high school this year. He gets good grades in school also. Is it too hard to walk on in say Div 2 football.

My youngest son Kody who at 17 weighing 165 lbs at 5-10 .He just benched 350 and also runs in the 4.5 forty range. I held him out of football this year because of politics at his high school this year. He gets good grades in school also. Is it too hard to walk on in say Div 2 football.

You held him out of football because of school poltics? How does he feel about that?

If you were my dad I would have kicked your ass. :devil:

agreed with Chef, thats "your bad" for holding your kid out due to YOUR beef with schools politics, as a coach I run into things like this frequently and its a shame...not trying to tell you how to raise your kid, but dam man, let your kid experience these things for himself rather than you running his life and deciding for him

ok off my soap box...your kid sounds like kind of a TANK, benching 350??? seriously??? and runs a 4.5?? even more of a shame the kid couldnt get scouted

its not impossible to walk onto any program, div 2 or even divison 1...you just talk to the coach and attend the tryouts/practices and obviously have to be skilled enough at your partciular position of choice, or be a helluva athlete (which by your description, your kid is an athlete)- and I have a few friends who walked on and were granted scholarships later

good grades and other sports help as well

You held him out of football because of school poltics? How does he feel about that?

If you were my dad I would have kicked your ass. :devil: