Watching the game live, I felt like Drake Maye's knee might have been down on the 4th quarter play, right before the two minute warning, where he rolled right and hit Diggs for the big yard gain. I have not seen any analysis on it. I am not sure how he could get enough on the ball to complete the throw running that hard right, without hitting the knee to the ground to create whip.
Also, the play happened right before the two minute warning. This was the very last play eligible for a challenge by the Bills. When Daquan had him in his grasp, and Maye released the ball, he was 11 yards behind the line of scrimmage. I know it was first down, but I was screaming for a challenge which I know could have likely cost a valuable timeout (w/o the benefit of hindsight). But if he was ruled down, it would have put the Pats in a 2nd and 21.
Shout out to BuffaloBillies who reminded me that the knee doesn't have to be down, any part above the foot including shin could be down.
So, do you think it would have been good to challenge the call at that point and do you think he could/should have been ruled down?
Sorry I cannot post a link to the play.